Purpose: The purpose of the Pirelli World Challenge® Championships is to provide teams, manufacturers and aftermarket suppliers a competitive production-based race series in which to prove their products.

Race Length: For GT, GTA, GT Cup, and GTS classes, there is a 50-minute maximum time limit for every race, with the number of laps and total distance being determined by track configuration, lap times and race conditions. For TC, TCA and TCB, races will be 40 minutes in length, while SprintX races are scheduled for a maximum of 60 minutes.

Homologation of Vehicles: In addition to the general series rules that apply to all homologated vehicles, each vehicle model that is homologated into the Pirelli World Challenge Series has a set of specifications assigned to it on a Vehicle Technical Specification sheet (VTS) in order to give equivalent overall performance capabilities to a wide range of vehicles. Adjustments to a vehicle’s VTS sheet will be made until a competitive package is developed. Vehicles may be submitted for homologation up to a year before it goes on general sale to the public, and until that particular body style goes out of production throughout the world.

Eligibility: Cars that have been homologated for competition in the Pirelli World Challenge Series are eligible for a full-year of competition from the time it is homologated, until that particular body style has been out of production throughout the world for four (4) years. After a body style has been out of production for four (4) years, it may continue to compete in no more than five (5) races total with a single driver, for an additional three (3) years.

Competition Adjustments: In order to keep the competition close within the Pirelli World Challenge series, competition adjustments will be made to a vehicle model when deemed necessary. Competition adjustments will primarily be done through adjustments to the base weight, the engine speed limit and/or the required restrictor size.

Manufacturers’ Championship Points: Only those car manufacturers that are corporate members are eligible to receive points toward the Manufacturers’ Championship. Points are awarded to a manufacturer based on its highest finishing position in each class. Points are disbursed as follows: 1st – 10 points, 2nd – 8 points, 3rd – 7 points, 4th – 6 points 5th – 5 points, 6th – 4 points, 7th – 3 points, 8th – 2 points, 9th – 1 point. One (1) manufacturer point will be awarded to the manufacturer of the car qualifying for pole position in each class. Ties in the final point standings in any of the Championships will be decided based upon the number of first place finishes in class; then, if necessary, the number of second place finishes, etc. The Manufacturers’ Championship will be awarded in all classes.

Drivers’ Championship Points: A Drivers’ Champion will be named in each specific class. Points are awarded to drivers based on their finishing position in each class. The points for all races are awarded as follows: 1st, 110 pts.; 2nd, 98; 3rd, 90; 4th, 84; 5th, 80; 6th, 76; 7th, 72; 8th, 68; 9th, 64; 10th, 60; 11th, 57; 12th, 54; 13th, 51; 14th, 48; 15th, 45; 16th, 43; 17th, 41; 18th, 39; 19th, 37; 20th, 35; 21st, 33; 22nd, 31; 23rd, 29; 24th, 27; 25th, 25; 26th, 23; 27th, 21; 28th, 19; 29th, 17; 30th, 15.

Note: In the TCB class, multiple drivers piloting the same car will be considered a team and be allowed to compete as a single entity accumulating points for the TCB Drivers’ Championship. This allows drivers to “split” the season and still have a chance at an overall drivers’ championship. A driver must be classified as a starter and complete more than 50% of the leader’s laps in their class to score Championship points. In the SprintX race, the car must take the green flag. There will be no minimum percentage but the drivers points will be awarded at the times listed in the Pirelli World Challenge Sporting Regulations document.

The highest qualifier for each class will receive 7 points.

Team Championship: Annual awards honoring the teams having the highest championship point total in each class for the season. The highest finishing car for each team will accumulate points for that team for that particular race.

SprintX Drivers’ Championship Points: In SprintX, the team points are a combination of both drivers’ points. “SprintX” points will be awarded to EACH driver at the following designated times listed below. Driver 1 – 25 mins from start of race; Driver 2 – Checkered Flag. Each driver will receive regular driver points. An example would be Driver ONE (1) is in (2nd) place at the 25-minute mark and is awarded 98 points. After the driver change the SECOND driver goes on to finish the race in 3rd place and receives 90 points. The point total for the race would be (98+90) = 188 Points

Rookie of the Year: Rookie of the Year honors the rookie(s) with the most Drivers’ Championship points in the GTS, TC, TCA and TCB class at the end of the season. To be eligible for Rookie status, a driver may have competed in no more than Five (5) Pirelli World Challenge races (in any category) in a single previous season and no more than Seven (7) Pirelli World Challenge races in their career. They must also have not podiumed in other championships of a similar level of the class they are applying for rookie status for. The Rookie program is to recognize drivers that are early in their racing careers. Eligibility is subject to approval by PWC, who will take into account ALL previous racing experience. Any driver wishing to be considered for ROOKIE status MUST submit a racing resume of or competition activity to PWC registration department before being considered

Jim Cook Memorial Trophy: An annual award honoring the memory of James Edwin Cook (1939-1985) is presented at season’s end to an entrant/driver who has made significant contributions to the overall success of the SCCA Pro Racing World Challenge Championships through promotional activities and a consistent display of good character and sportsmanship. The award was started during the Endurance Championship era. Previous winners were Tommy Morrison (1985), Rick Hurst (1986), Dave Wolin (1987), Steve Saleen (1988), Tommy Archer (1989), Doc Bundy, Scott Lagasse and Lotus USA (1990), Lotus USA (1991), Doug Rippie/Dieline (1992), Chris Neville (1993), Kermit Upton III (1994), David Rosenblum (1995), Saleen/Allen Racing (1996), RealTime Racing (1997), DC Sports (1998), Turner Motorsport (1999), Team Tech Racing/Scott Bove (2000), Phil McClure (2001), Rod Bymaster/Audi (2002), Jim Osborn (2003), Tim Wiens (2004), Jon Groom (2005), Dave Spitzer, Team Cadillac (2006), World Challenge paddock (2007), Bob Woodhouse (2008), Andy Pilgrim (2009), Eric Meyer (2010), James Sofronas (2011), Randy Pobst (2012), Jack Baldwin (2013), Andy Lee (2014), and Mark Klenin (2015).

Zimmermann Cup: An annual award presented in the memory of multi-time Championship winning crew chief Jerome Zimmermann (1967-2003) at season’s end to the crew chief that best exemplifies the similar passion, dedication and success Zimmermann had in the SCCA Pro Racing World Challenge. Past winners include: Dax Raub/3R-Racing (2003), Jason Marks/Bimmerworld (2004), Tivadar Heinlein/Jon Groom Racing (2005), Louis Gigliotti Jr./LG Motorsports (2006), Nathan Bonneau/RealTime Racing (2007), Chris Tindol, Tindol Motorsports (2008), Chris Willes/ACS Express Racing (2009), Rick Maxwell/Woodhouse Performance (2010), Nic Short/CRP Racing (2011), Bob Raub, K-PAX Racing (2012), Ray Sorenson, Blackdog Speed Shop (2013), Bob Sanderson, GTSport Racing (2014), Enrico Diano, R. Ferri Motorsports (2015).